Call Derek

(626) 437-6800

Palm Avenue

South Pasadena, CA


7 Days a Week

South Pasadena Recognized for Distinguished Schools

Continuing a longstanding tradition of excellence in education, two schools within the South Pasadena Unified School District have been recognized by the California Department of Education. Arroyo Vista Elementary School and Monterey Hills Elementary School were both recently honored with the designation of California Distinguished School.

The California Distinguished School Program recognizes elementary and middle and high schools in alternate years. In 2018 California is recognizing outstanding education programs and practices in elementary schools. Among the criteria for attaining this prestigious status is outstanding student performance related to academic indicators and a high participation rate of students. Schools recognized as a California Distinguished School Awardee hold the Distinguished School Title for two years.

“These schools implement outstanding educational programs and practices that help California students realize their potential, and put them on the path to achieve their dreams,” according to State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson. “Every day at these schools, teachers, administrators and classified employees, working with parents, apply their dedication, creativity, and talents toward providing a great education for all their students.”

These latest academic achievements continue the legacy of excellence in the South Pasadena Unified School District. The high academic standards and demonstrated quality of South Pasadena Schools has dramatically increased the desirability for parents to locate their families within the 91030 zip code (South Pasadena). Students are required to live within the City of South Pasadena to attend South Pasadena Schools. This demand for excellence in education has in turn increased property values within South Pasadena on a consistent basis.

Click here to view the complete list of the California Distinguished Schools Awardees in 2018.

Share This